Notes From Project Dawn, Chapter 14 – We Ain’t Dead Yet

Screenshot-63_zpskrsew3bx

So I owe everyone who is reading this a massive apology; the third year of university and working three jobs has been totally kicking my ass these last few months, but I am determined to see my legacies through. I love my Sims, I love writing them, and I love who takes the time out of their day to read them (the Laflammes were given a Liebster Award and I am so happy!), so I’m determined to update at least once a week. So without further ado, lets get on with it.

Screenshot

Ramona: ‘I don’t recognise this woman. Who is she? Why does she look so well rested?’

Yeah, I wish I had a three month long break. Back to work for you, that 100 is still a long way off.

Screenshot-2

Florence: ‘But why did she have to come back here, of all places? She’s trying to get her claws into my husband, and don’t think I don’t know. I’m not stupid. He tried to shock himself and her, but no such luck.’

Screenshot-3

Ramona’s got a point, though; that’s one cute kid and a ton of nice genetics…

Screenshot-4

Florence: ‘What’s she even famous for, being the town slut? All she’s doing is adding to the pile of kids she can’t afford.’

And reality ensues.

Screenshot-5

But ignorance is bliss, apparently.

Screenshot-6

Back at home, the kids have decided they don’t like living in a wreck of a house any more, so are trying to keep up with the chores. Kay’s taking care of the dog…

Screenshot-7

Harper has taken over Cody’s role as babysitter…

Screenshot-8

And Ilse is trying to leave town without anyone noticing. It’s only a few more days, you can cope.

Screenshot-9

Gail: ‘Why is our bin halfway across the lawn? And has anyone ever used that future teleporter?’

Kay: ‘Shh, this’ll be hilarious.’

Screenshot-10

Kay: ‘YOU LOST THAT GAME OF CHESS!’

Gail: ‘OH GOD, WHY?!’

Screenshot-11

Ezra grew up, gained a beanie hat and the Can’t Stand Art trait.

Screenshot-12

And apparently Ramona’s decided that if she’s waterlogged enough, she’ll drown on the water slide.

Screenshot-13

What skill is that, excessive head trauma?

Ezra: ‘With a minor in Geology.’

Screenshot-14

I was going to make a Neon Genesis Evangelion joke but it’s funny already.

Screenshot-15

And no one bats an eyelid. Ah, Midnight Hollow.

Screenshot-16

So while Ramona was out, Ilse grabbed everyone and took them out for dinner, as a nice treat before she and Harper moved out. She actually managed to get quite a few family members together; I think that’s Karen on the right.

Screenshot-17

But no good deed goes unpunished and all that…

Ramona: ‘Why would you waste money on food when we have a synthesizer that’ll make anything we want!’

Ilse: ‘Because I wanted something real, for a change, something that a person took time to cook!’

Ramona: ‘What difference does that make?!’

Screenshot-18

Ramona: ‘Stupid girl. We need money for a decent nursery, not fancy restaurant food.’

Screenshot-19

But hey, I think the painting mod is working again.

Screenshot-20

Just in time for Gail to run away as far as she can.

Screenshot-22

A brunette Ramona. Wonderful.

Screenshot-23

Ramona: ‘Go forth, little clone. Make me grandchildren and contribute to the insanity of this experiment.’

Gail: ‘Yeah, sure…’

Screenshot-24

And up her picture goes on the wall.

Screenshot-26

Ramona got a makeover too, though I’m honestly not sure why; that outfit is much too nice for this place.

Ramona: ‘I’m dressing for the life I’d like to have.’

Screenshot-27

Apparently that’s the wicked stepmother role.

Screenshot-28

I think that’s the most impressive bit of karma I’ve seen in a long time.

Screenshot-29

Ramona: ‘I guess the jetpack still needs a little work…’

Screenshot-30

Ramona: ‘And how dare you mock me?! I saw you laughing!’

Ilse: ‘But I didn’t – ‘

Ramona: ‘Just get inside!’

Screenshot-31

Kay: ‘I wish I could have gone with you, Gail. You’re more of a mother than she is.’

Field trip next chapter, I promise.

Screenshot-32

Meanwhile, Ramona’s on the hunt for Father #17.

Screenshot-33

Ramona: ‘Ugh, no. That guy was old. And dead.’

Technically, you should be too.

Screenshot-34

But hey, Ellery’s a doctor now!

Screenshot-35

Is this guy’s name Sammy? He looks like a Sammy.

Screenshot-36

Ramona: ‘Oh, don’t worry, I’ll call you whatever you like…’

Screenshot-37

Ramona: ‘Like Darron! Hey there! Still not over the electrocution, huh?’

Wow, that’s cold, even for you.

Screenshot-38

God help you if that gets back to Florence.

Screenshot-39

Harper, stop pretending that’s your mother and actually weed the garden. We’ll never get to ambrosia at this rate.

Screenshot-40

But look, more babysitters!

Screenshot-41

Screenshot-42

She looks like Florence in glasses. Her fourth trait is Born Saleswoman, so I’ll guess she’ll be trying to make some money off elixirs. December, on the other hand…

Screenshot-43

Ramona: ‘Such a beautiful, unique looking boy.’

I’ll say. He got Brooding.

Screenshot-45

Ramona: ‘Okay, everyone, I’ve called a family meeting for a very good reason – ‘

Kay: ‘Oh great.’

Screenshot-46

Ramona: ‘Now before you protest, I know some of you are still in school, but, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, money is pretty tight at the moment – ‘

That’s why you’re still sitting on milk crate furniture.

Ramona: ‘ANYWAY, so there needs to be a few changes around here, you understand?’

Screenshot-47

Kay: ‘What?! We’re already living in austerity measures as it is!’

Ezra: ‘Yeah, I don’t even have my own bed.’

January: ‘How many sisters am I sharing a room with?’

Ramona: ‘December, you understand, right?’

December: ‘I don’t know. Maybe. Is that why I didn’t get a birthday present?’

Screenshot-48

Ramona: ‘Look, the point is, we need to save money so I can actually conduct this study properly. You kids aren’t thriving in this environment, and we need to relocate. But we can’t do that without cash.’

December: ‘So…like, if we build a proper nursery, we won’t have to train the little ones any more?’

Ramona: ‘Exactly. You can all devote proper time to your friends, hobbies, and LifeTime Wishes.’

Ilse: ‘Yeah, that sounds nice.’

Screenshot-49

Ramona: ‘So essentially, use anything that’ll get you money. Painting, fishing, gardening, sell those potions cluttering up the inventory, I don’t care, just do it.’

Screenshot-50

Ramona: ‘Even you, Ilse, though you aren’t good for much.’

Kay: ‘Why won’t she have a go at January instead, she’s barely done anything this chapter.’

Screenshot-51

Ramona: ‘I know you’re not smart enough to get a real job, so get back to painting. Or do some chores.’

Ilse: ‘I – I’ll take the bins out…’

You poor thing. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure you get a good makeover, a husband, and a house when you move out.

Screenshot-52

Meanwhile, this is Ramona’s next target. I have no clue what his name is, so let’s call him…

Screenshot-53

Bruno.

Screenshot-54

Ramona: ‘You know I’m the most beautiful woman in this town, right? A constellation, a meteorite, a shooting star – ‘

Bruno: ‘I’m a Cancer.’

Screenshot-55

Bruno: ‘And we don’t date Geminis!’

Screenshot-56

Ramona: ‘Tough luck. I do.’

Bystander: ‘What have I just walked into?’

Screenshot-57

B: ‘You know what, never mind. I don’t want to know.’

Screenshot-58

It’s…sort of romantic?

Screenshot-59

Bruno: ‘Guess I’ve lucked out today.’

Screenshot-60

Hopefully Ramona has too, even if she’s being judged by the townsfolk.

Screenshot-61

See what I mean?

Screenshot-62

But at least she’s persistent. We haven’t had a ghost baby yet, and I’d like one of each occult.

Screenshot-63

The lot is one hideous mess. This is why I want to build an actual house, hence the 50k budget.

Screenshot-64

Even the zombies don’t think the garden is worth destroying, that’s how bad it is.

Screenshot-65

At least she’s sticking to her word, though, even if widgets probably won’t sell for much.

Screenshot-66

I do love the school, though. Such a shame it’s a rabbit hole.

Screenshot-67

I decided to put Kay’s Born Saleswoman trait to the test, see if we could get anything decent for the potions.

Screenshot-69

Clerk: ‘We only buy a handful of your potions, all of your gems, and none of your produce. And we’re closed now.’

Kay: ‘You’re kidding me, right?’

Screenshot-68

On the bright side, we can train Mikey to hunt.

Screenshot-71

Are they really that famous, or are the stalkers just bored?

Screenshot-72

Ilse: ‘ – sigh- I’ll get out of here soon, won’t I?’

You will, I promise.’

Screenshot-73

Kay’s quite the opportunist. Hopefully we’ll make a bit more money cutting the gems than just selling them raw.

Screenshot-74

HARPER, NO.

Screenshot-75

Harper: ‘Oh c’mon, it’ll only take a minute…’

Go fishing!

Screenshot-76

Clerk: ‘You’ll get ten simoleans for all this.’

Kay: ‘I will cheerfully murder you in your sleep.’

Screenshot-77

So yeah, Ramona’s pregnant again.

Screenshot-82

In case you couldn’t tell.

Screenshot-79

Mikey: ‘It’s time to go out! And play! And walk! And hunt! And…’

January: ‘Nope, you don’t exist right now…’

Screenshot-81

Bless his little heart. You keep being excited by those fish, December.

December: ‘Maybe I can keep this one!’

January: ‘Ugh, as if. I should be going to prom, not doing this.’

Screenshot-83

Harper: ‘Now you listen to me; you are not brainless, you’re just as smart as anyone else in this house. Don’t pay attention to her.’

Ilse: ‘And how do I do that when she’s screaming at me every minute of the day?’

Harper: ‘Run away and never look back.’

Ilse: ‘While she breeds more children to ignore?’

Screenshot-84

It’s true.


Screenshot-86

Well, this one’s broken.

Screenshot-87

Ilse: ‘Serves her right.’

Nah, this is Felix. #18, Brave, Clumsy, likes Irish Green, Chinese music, and mushroom omelette. Welcome to hell.

Screenshot-85

Ramona: ‘I’m sorry, Ilse. I’ve been to harsh on you lately…’

Ilse: ‘Save it, I don’t care any more.’

I never claimed she was any good at being a mother, just a scientist.

Screenshot-88

But here he is. I don’t think he’s a clone.

Screenshot-89

And with that, Ezra ages up (again).

Screenshot-90

Not bad at all! His new trait is Schmoozer.

Screenshot-91

She’s far too attached to that dress for her own good.

Screenshot-92

And finally…it’s time.

Screenshot-93

Screenshot-94

She’s so pretty! Her final trait is Artistic.

Screenshot-95

They’re the least likely set of twins ever, but who cares. Harper got Athletic.

Screenshot-96

December: ‘When do get to go on the wall?’

When I finally get shot of you.

Screenshot-97

And now for the spares:

01

02

03

At least this set of twins is doing well…

I’m going to leave it there, and I promise, I will be back next week. Comments are always appreciated!

~ Viki.

Leave a Reply

